Welcome Guest !!
CBSE curriculum is based on National Curriculum Framework, 2005

The CBSE curriculum relates to "learning by doing" and it is based on National Curriculum Framework, 2005. All other boards in India benchmark their curriculum against CBSE curriculum. CBSE has inhouse facilitator NCERT to provide books and contents based on its curriculum. In Class 12, students take 2 languages and 3 electives or 1 language and 4 electives. An additional subject may also be taken. Hindi, Urdu and Sanskrit are offered at 2 levels, core and elective. English is offered at three levels, core, elective and functional. Languages in bold are not offered by ISC. Students have the following 30 languages to choose from

22 Indian languages (English, Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Malayalam, Manipuri, Oriya, Punjabi, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Limboo, Lepcha, Bhutia, Sanskrit, Nepali, Kashmiri, Mizo)
8 Foreign languages (Arabic, Persian, Tibetan, French, German, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese)
Either English or Hindi must be taken. Both can also be taken. Marks are in brackets (theory + practicals) Electives include the following; students have 43 elective cources to choose from

Mathematics (100, 3 hrs)
Physics (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Chemistry (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Biology (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Biotechnology (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Engineering Drawing (70, 3 hrs + 30, 3 hrs)
Home Science (70, 3 hrs + 30, 3 hrs)
Agriculture (70, 3 hrs + 30, 3 hrs)
Computer Science/Informatics Practices (70, 3 hrs + 30, 3 hrs)
Multimedia and Web Technology (70, 3 hrs + 30, 3 hrs)
Economics (100, 3 hrs)
Business Studies (100, 3 hrs)
Accountancy (80, 3 hrs + 20, 1 hr)
Entrepreneurship (70, 3 hrs + 30)
History (100, 3 hrs)
Political Science (100, 3 hrs)
Geography (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Psychology (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Sociology (80, 3 hrs + 20, 3 hrs)
Philosophy (100, 3 hrs)
Physical Education (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Fashion Studies (70, 3 hrs + 30)
Creative Writing and Translation (80, 3hrs + 20 for portfolio)
Fine Arts (common 30 marks, 1 hr theory paper on the History of Indian Art, 4 different courses)
Painting (50, 6 hrs + 20 for portfolio)
Graphics (50, 6 hrs + 20 for portfolio)
Sculpture (50, 6 hrs + 20 for portfolio)
Applied Art (50, 6 hrs + 20 for portfolio)
Music (6 different courses)
Carnatic Music (vocal)
Carnatic Music (melodic instruments)
Carnatic Music (percussion instruments)
Hindustani Music (vocal)
Hindustani Music (melodic instruments)
Hindustani Music (percussion instruments)
Dance (7 different courses)
Heritage Crafts (70, 3 hrs + 30, 3 hrs)
Graphic Design (70, 3 hrs + 20 + 10 for portfolio)

Class X Board Exams are optional from 2010-2011

CBSE X Board Exams are Mandatory for Schools which have classes only till Xth Standard and Optional for Schools with classes till XII Standard.

A new system of evaluation has been put into place that lays emphasis on better understanding of concepts rather than one-time mugging during exams. This is being termed as CONTINOUS & COMPREHENSIVE EVALUATION (CCE). Under Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE), students will be evaluated throughout the year.

Now, there will be two terms in each year, not three. Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) comprises of 2 assessments done over 2 terms - first and second.

New Grading Scheme
Grades will be awarded to students on a 9-point grading system. Each grade will be given on the basis of formative and summative assessment and will correspond to a range of marks:

Grade Marks
A1 95 +
A2 90 - 94
A3 85 - 89
B1 80 - 84
B2 70 - 79
C1 60 - 69
C2 50 - 59
C3 33 - 49
D < 33

Happy Teachers Day

Teachers open up young minds,
Showing Them The Wonders Of The Intellect
And the miracle
Of being able to think for themselves.
A teacher exercises
The mental muscles of students,
Stretching and strengthening,
So they can make challenging decisions,
Find their way in the world,
And become independent.
The best teachers care enough
To gently push and prod students
To Do Their Best
And fulfill their potential.
You are one of those.
Thank you.
- Joanna Fuchs

Students of Class IX will be subjected to grading system from October

As per a recent notification by the CBSE Board, all students of standard IX will be subjected to grading system based on Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) from October onwards.

“It will be a bit difficult for the current batch of Class X students to suddenly shift their mental gears from numerical marking to grading pattern of assessment, but the students are being counselled that nothing much has changed in the examination pattern per se,” said Priyadarshani Kelka, the principal of New Era School.

She added, “And now that the new system is there to stay, we have also been informed to immediately implement the nine-point grading system for the current batch of Class IX.”

On Demand Exams will be held more than once a year - CBSE

There will be no Class X board examination in CBSE schools in 2011. While there will be a board exam for Class X in 2010, grading system, based on continuous and comprehensive evaluation by schools, will kick in this year itself. Students in schools with classes only till X will have to take an “online/ offline/on demand” assessment test for seeking admission in Class XI in another school.

Students of schools with classes till XII need not take such an assessment test. It will be optional for students of these schools to take the on-demand test.

According to new CBSE guidelines, on demand assessment tests will be held more than once a year and students can repeat it to improve their grades. Also, for students interested in being evaluated on marks, schools will provide for these separately but not on the certificate.

There will be nine grades. The highest will be A1 (exceptional) with a grade point of 10 and a marks range of 91-100%. Second grade will be A2 (excellent) with a grade point of 9 and marks in the range of 81-90%. Third grade will be B1 (very good) with grade point of 8 and a marks range of 71-80%.

The fourth grade will be B2 (good) with a grade point of 7 and marks range of 61-70%. Fifth grade will be C1 (fair) with grade point of 6 and marks range of 51-60%. C2 (average) will be the sixth grade with grade point of 5 and marks range of 41-50%. D (below average) will be the seventh grade with 4 grade points and marks range of 33-40%. E1 (needs improvement) and E2 (unsatisfactory) are the last two grades.

Grading system based on continuous and comprehensive evaluation (CCE) will be done in two terms (April-September, October-March). In a year, the school will conduct four formative and two summative assessments.

In the first term, there will be two formative assessments of 10% each and single summative assessment of 20%. In the second term also a similar format will be adopted. Formative assessment will carry 40% marks and summative assessment 60% marks.

CBSE also plans to offer an aptitude test that will be available by February 2010. By the time a student reaches Class XI, he/she would have undertaken the aptitude test twice, once at the end of Class IX and then at the end of Class X.
But since the grade system is being introduced in the middle of the academic session, students of Class IX — who will be the first batch not to take Class X board examination in 2011 — will have to go through two formative and one summative assessment in the October-March term in schools.

What exactly is CCD?

Cafe Cofee Day